Skip to main content

Who Can Stop the Cities from Bringing Down DeKalb?

Here are Emails to Make it Easy for You to Ask that Question Yourself!


Thanks to MANA, the Medlock Area Neighborhood Association, here are the email addresses in an easy cut/paste format for anyone choosing to contact the legislators who might be able to stop the nightmare of city and annexation proposals that are consuming all our time and chipping away at our once-peacefully co-existing communities.  

Remind these legislators about the very words that were spoken by Mark Elgart, and detailed in the SACS report on our schools:

 "(This is) a system that is divided along lines of race, socioeconomic levels and geography." 

 "Such divisions are continuing to paralyze this system's ability to address the needs of all students."
 -- Dr. Mark Elgart, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)


Let them know that you will be voting "no" on any new cities and any annexations if those items are placed on your ballot this year!


House Governmental Affairs Committee

Carter, Amy, Chairman
amy.carter@house.ga.gov

Brockway, Buzz
buzz.brockway@house.ga.gov

Taylor, Darlene K.
darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov

Brooks, Tyrone
tyrone.brooks@house.ga.gov

Fleming, Barry
barry.fleming@house.ga.gov

Floyd, Hugh
hugh.floyd@house.ga.gov

Hamilton, Mark
mark.hamilton@house.ga.gov

Hightower, Dustin
dustin.hightower@house.ga.gov

Kidd, E. Culver "Rusty"
rusty.kidd@house.ga.gov

Meadows, John
john.meadows@house.ga.gov

Morgan, Alisha Thomas
alisha.morgan@house.ga.gov

Mosby, Howard
howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

O`Neal, Larry
larry.oneal@house.ga.gov

Oliver, Mary Margaret
mmo@mmolaw.com

Powell, Alan
alan.powell@house.ga.gov


Easy cut/paste:
amy.carter@house.ga.gov
buzz.brockway@house.ga.gov
darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov
tyrone.brooks@house.ga.gov
barry.fleming@house.ga.gov
hugh.floyd@house.ga.gov
mark.hamilton@house.ga.gov
dustin.hightower@house.ga.gov
rusty.kidd@house.ga.gov
john.meadows@house.ga.gov
alisha.morgan@house.ga.gov
howard.mosby@house.ga.gov
larry.oneal@house.ga.gov
mmo@mmolaw.com
alan.powell@house.ga.gov


DEKALB COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

GEORGIA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
http://www.house.ga.gov/Representatives/en-US/HouseMembersList.aspx

Easy cut/paste:
stacey.abrams@house.ga.gov
kb51701@aol.com
dee.dawkins-haigler@house.ga.gov
karla.drenner@house.ga.gov
michele.henson@house.ga.gov
scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov
mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov
darshun.kendrick@house.ga.gov
rahnmayo@gmail.com
billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov
howard.mosby@house.ga.gov
mmo@mmolaw.com
mspete16@yahoo.com
pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov
tom.taylor@house.ga.gov
ernest.williams@house.ga.gov


GEORGIA SENATE 
http://www.senate.ga.gov/senators/en-US/SenateMembersList.aspx

Easy cut/paste:
georgia.butler@senate.ga.gov
elena@elenaparent.com
gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov
stevehenson@mindspring.com
emanj@mindspring.com
fran.millar@senate.ga.gov
ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov


CITY of DECATUR

Easy cut/paste:
Scott.Drake@decaturga.com
Jim.Baskett@decaturga.com
Fred.Boykin@decaturga.com
Kecia.Cunningham@decaturga.com
Patti.Garrett@decaturga.com
peggy.merriss@decaturga.com
hugh.saxon@decaturga.com

Popular posts from this blog

Tucker Township? A Vision or a Pipe Dream?

Who drew this map?  We are not really sure.  We stumbled upon it recently while looking for Tucker election results. We do, however, think this map, called "Tucker Township" actually shows a good compromise between Tucker and Lavista Hills that could have worked well for everyone.   It offers a great way to share the Northlake area commercial tax revenue.  So, why didn't anyone suggest something like this  prior to putting forth competing bills in the 2013 and 2014 legislative sessions?  And, why is Tucker's city still being allowed to move forward when it has been called "unconstitutional" by even the legislators who supported it?
Limited services government in the form of a new city is something that the Georgia constitution does not allow, apparently.  But, unless citizens decide to fight the creation of Tucker or Peachtree Corners, two of such limited cities are going to continue operating until someone tells them that they cannot.  
Save Tucker…

Taxpayers and Voters are Unhappy with Commissioner Barnes-Sutton:

IMPORTANT RUNOFF ELECTIONTUESDAY, JULY 26!  DEKALB COUNTY'S DISTRICT 4 CHOOSES BETWEEN INCUMBENT BARNES-SUTTON OR CHALLENGER BRADSHAW! 

If you DID NOT vote in the last election, do not despair, you can STILL VOTE in the July 26 Runoff so long as  you were registered to vote at the time of the first election.  To have a say in this runoff, you will need to ask for a "Democratic ballot" for you to cast your vote on.

From the desk of the group "Unhappy Taxpayers and Voters," we received the following:

To DeKalb Teachers and Georgia Teachers:

Commissioner Sharon Barnes Sutton (of the 4th District in DeKalb County) has a long history of arriving to work late (Commission meetings and/or committee meetings) and/or not showing up at all. We ask that you review the following records (prior performance and work history/records of arriving to work on time and/or showing up) and ask if teachers that are not elected officials could get away with the same violations:

How ma…

Tucker Behaving Badly

Newly elected Tucker Mayor Frank Auman (center) and four council-members were sworn in to their positions on March 8 at Tucker High School.  The council members represented exactly 2 of the 3 districts.  Despite the fact that they were not bound by any particular charter requirement to do so, they decided to move forward without the conclusion of District 2's election, which was held over by the need for a runoff.

When met with objections, they promptly began holding meetings anyway.  And they hired staff members, specifically lawyers, more specifically lawyers who are experts in election laws and understanding the charter. 

The seats for District 2 were decided in a runoff election March 29. And April 1, the results were deemed finalized by the Elections Supervisor in DeKalb County.  A separate swearing in ceremony was held at Tucker Recreation Center for them.

When Auman was elected mayor, he said his first goal is to build a foundation for the city.
“We have to get the rev…